Harriet the Spying Hippo

I finally finished the lacy entrelac scarf! It’s blocked and ready to be admired (not used, however, because it is insanely hot here right now). I’ll have pictures later.

I had planned to follow up the scarf with a pair of dishtowels, but I received a Facebook alert that my LYS had gotten in a shipment of magazines, so I hopped in the car and drove on down, hoping that they would have Knit Simple Fall ’11. It was kind of a gamble, considering I had never bothered to look at their magazine collection before and wasn’t sure that they would be carrying it, but it payed off. The owner was just putting them out when I got in. Understandably, I was crazy excited. I’ve heard a lot of talk about it being difficult to find, and I know that no one else would be carrying it within an hours drive.

On a whim, I also bought a hank of Malabrigo worsted in the Cuarzo colorway. I couldn’t resist. It was calling to me. Mal can be such a temptress sometimes. I’m already a large part of the way through Harriet the Hippo. I have the rest of the head shaping, the nose, and her arms to knit. She’s already got plenty of Hippo personality. Meanwhile, I’ve been watching my way through season 5 of Buffy, just because I  thought it would be fun. I’ve seen it all before plenty of times, but it’s becoming a summer ritual.

Here’s what my weekend has looked like:

Leave a Reply

