Process Knitting

Do you find that you are purely one type of knitter? I’ve always considered myself to be a product knitter. When I see the pattern, I immediately stalk project pages and color choices, and I can’t wait to finish knitting so that I can add the glorious thing to my wardobe. What gets me through the tedious moments is imagining having the item in my hand. Recently, however, I’ve found myself to be more of a process knitter.

c4399618c98711e29ad222000a1f97a2_7

This sock, if nothing else, has been proving this change to me. The color has best been described as “Easter with a Hangover.” It’s too muddy to be pastels, and too spread out to make clear stripes. The pattern, while lovely, is very wrong for the yarn, but nothing else seemed to work with it. The overall effect is a sock that only a knitter could love, and certainly nothing that product knitter me would be interested in. Process knitter me, however, is head over heels. This sock and I have shared many a lovely zen moment and we spent almost all of Memorial Day together. Something about it entertains me, and I enjoy working on this pair more than I would have thought. Hopefully this adoration stretches through to sock #2. After that, I think it’s back to the Saroyan Scarf for good, and then a wee break from the sock pandemonium.

SAMSUNG

Do you ever find yourself switching back and forth between knitting types? Or do you, like me, see it as more of a spectrum?

One thought on “Process Knitting

  1. Do you know, you’re right, and I hadn’t really thought of it that way before. I do some projects as you say purely as a process to get a feel for a technique – with others it’s because I want an end product. Good way of looking at it!

Leave a Reply

