FO: Mystery Project

The identity of my mystery project can finally be revealed!

SAMSUNG

 

Isn’t he sweet? My goal for June is to build up my sister’s monster collection a little. She is an elementary school teacher, and the monsters live on her bookshelves so that they can be checked out by students as reading buddies. When we were cleaning out her classroom after the last day of school, though, I noticed her collection was looking a little paltry! We’re beefing it up with a new stock of monster buddies. This is Cecil the Computer Monster from Rebecca Danger’s Big Book of Monsters. This is my first time with this pattern, and it came together pretty quickly. I did a purl ridge mouth instead of a pick up stitch mouth, because this yarn splits like crazy and picking up with it is a nightmare. I love how toy patterns come together right in front of you. An arm, an ear, a smile, and the next thing you know you’ve got a smiling little creation!

What do you think about toy knitting? Do you find it rewarding, or too finicky to bother?

9 thoughts on “FO: Mystery Project

  1. He’s so adorable, and goes so nicely with the flowers in the background! I like the finished result of toy knitting and making all the little pieces, but I don’t like sewing them up at all, hehe. 🙂

  2. He’s absolutely adorable! That book has been on my “I should” list for a while, but I actually do find toys a bit time consuming. I’ve crocheted more animals than I’ve knit.

Leave a Reply

