Adventures in Monster Knitting

I’ve knit more than a dozen monsters, but they still don’t always go quite right. Their expressions, the stuffing, limb position, it can all be subtly tricky. Some times they come out right, sometimes they come out wrong. And what’s more, what I think is right for my monsters might be totally wrong for someone else’s. So sometimes, things like this happen:

006

 

Attack of the lumpy monsters!! This is a result of going too quickly while stuffing. I was in a rush and didn’t bother to place it correctly, or break it up into small tufts before putting it in. Once I saw the result, I couldn’t help but laugh. After taking everything out, breaking it down, and starting again, the result improved.

014

 

This is what Rebecca Danger’s Gort the Gym Bag Monster is supposed to look like! It only took a try or two to get him right. I’m super proud of him, though! This is another one of the monsters from her Big Book of Monsters that I hadn’t tried yet, but I’m glad I did! He’s simple and sweet, and I love the stripes.

Does anyone else struggle to get the details right on toy knits?

6 thoughts on “Adventures in Monster Knitting

Leave a Reply

