F.O: Dot the Monster

We interrupt this blanket broadcast to bring you: A Finished Object!

I swear that I’m still working diligently on the Fireside Afghan. I’m plugging away at it, churning out roughly a block a day. Six more blocks and I’ll be ready to begin sewing up! But, in the meantime, I also managed to slip in a little monster. He’s to be sent away to a new home in a swap.

DSC_0048I’m pretty enamored with this little guy. He’s knit from RedHeart Impeccable, which I bought on a whim but have decided that I like. It was a little scratchy to work with at this gauge, though soft enough as a finished project. I think if it were worked at on 8’s as, say, a lovely little entrelac scarf, it would be perfectly acceptable for against the skin wear.

DSC_0043A lot of gradient yarns fall pray to the murky, less attractive patches as the colors shift. I found this one to be lovely through and through. This pattern is a perennial swap favorite of mine, too. It’s small enough to squish in an envelope or tight box, but big enough that I don’t feel as though I’m sending along a mini. It combines all of my favorite of the designer’s techniques, too.

DSC_0054And, for proof, a quick shot of my stack of blocks hanging out in the Hexipuff bowl. I’ve given myself the deadline of my birthday, a month and a half away, to finish the two projects. I know that I’m getting close on the blanket and that I’m not far off on the puff pillow, but I think we can all agree that seaming and finishing a project can sometimes feel more daunting than the actual knitting does.

Does anyone else get squeamish about finishing techniques?

9 thoughts on “F.O: Dot the Monster

Leave a Reply

